jtrhart

Jonathan Edwards' 70 Resolutions

In Uncategorized on January 16, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Since this is now officially Jonathan Edwards Week at Help My Unbelief I thought I would post a list of resolutions that Edwards made when he was in his late teens. You can find the list at The Center for Reformed Theology and Apologetics (have a look around while you’re there, it’s a great site).

You’ll notice a few of the resolutions deal with eating/drinking habits that may be a bit strange. Jonathan Edwards was extremely conscious of every action or thought that might be sinful. He seemed to pay particular attention to his eating/drinking habits and would ration his intake of food to the minimum possible amount, even at the expense of his personal health. People that knew him often begged him to eat more because he typically looked very weak as if he were about to faint.

Here are some of the resolutions that I found particularly interesting:

  1. Resolved, never to do any manner of thing, whether in soul or body, less or more, but what tends to the glory of God; nor be, nor suffer it, if I can avoid it.
  2. Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.
  3. Resolved, whenever I do any conspicuously evil action, to trace it back, till I come to the original cause; and then, both carefully endeavor to do so no more, and to fight and pray with all my might against the original of it.
  4. Resolved, to examine carefully, and constantly, what that one thing in me is, which causes me in the least to doubt of the love of God; and to direct all my forces against it.
  5. Resolved, to improve every opportunity, when I am in the best and happiest frame of mind, to cast and venture my soul on the Lord Jesus Christ, to trust and confide in him, and consecrate myself wholly to him; that from this I may have assurance of my safety, knowing that I confide in my Redeemer. July 8, 1723.
Leave a Reply

