jtrhart

Tim Keller's The Reason For God on the Amazon Kindle

In theology on February 16, 2008 at 11:21 pm

Amazon KindleSo, I’ve been evaluating the Amazon Kindle for a few days now. I will write a full review as soon as I have a better feel for it and after I use it in church services and Bible studies, but…it is awesome so far, much better than I was thinking it was going to be. Anyways, more to come.

One thing struck me last night, I looked for Tim Keller’s book for the Kindle on the 14th when it was released, but it was not available on the Kindle, only in hardcover form. But then I looked again last night and it was released! Then I also read the story of how the ESV was released for the Kindle. Basically, a few people commented that it would be nice to have the ESV translation on the Kindle and sure enough, Crossway released one.

My point in all this is that things seem to be moving much faster. Data is being produced in a form that allows it to be shared across all types of platforms without much difficulty. So, when I post something to my blog, I can share it on Digg, Facebook, etc. without having to tell each site what my data is and how it is formatted. In the same way, when a publisher creates a book, they can begin to publish it in many forms (hardcover, pdf, eReaders, etc.) without having to put a lot of effort into manipulating it.

So, I’m enjoying reading through my first book on the Kindle (The Reason For God). So far I like the book but I’ll wait until I’m finished before “passing judgment”. Once you figure out how to hold the device, you can lie down in bed and comfortably read through the book and actually forget that you’re reading an e-book. In just a few days I’ve gotten pretty fast at using the built-in highlighter and annotation tools on the Kindle so I’m still able to mark up the margins like I always do but now…I can search through my markings. This is one of the biggest selling points for the Kindle. Everything on it is searchable. Stay tuned for a full review once I’ve used it long enough!

Leave a Reply

