jtrhart

And 90% Chose Murder

In abortion on April 3, 2008 at 7:16 pm

Here is an article from Ken Connor titled “Disposing of the Disabled” (HT: kerux noemata). My heart sunk when I read that, according to the New York Times, 90% of babies are murdered once the parent(s) finds out it has Down syndrome.

90%. Let that number sink in.

I appreciated the author’s relating the problem of abortion to the period of time when blacks where not treated as equals in America and his hope that abortion would, in the future, become as equally shameful to us as a horrible period of American history:

There were times in America’s past when neither blacks nor women were regarded as full fledged members of the human family. As a result, they too were deprived of the full panoply of rights endowed by the Creator to those created in his image. Those were not the best of times in America’s history. Thankfully, however, there were other times when Americans were willing to pay the price to see to it that both blacks and women received the protections they were entitled to by virtue of their humanity. Will we be willing to pay such a price for the unborn and the handicapped in our time? Again, only time will tell.

Unfortunately, the main difference between these two time periods is that one group had a leader emerge from its own ranks to fight for justice and reform and the other group’s leaders are taken out before they even emerge. O Lord, forgive us.

  1. Wow. That is … sobering.

  2. It has taken me a couple of days to ponder this outrageous subject. J, remember when I told you I thought you should go in the ministry and you responded, “We all are called to be in the ministry”, Well aren’t we who live and share lives with these dear ones who are mentally disabled or with Downs syndrome the very ones who are ministered to. Those I am referring to are missionaries with a capital M. I am humbled in their prescence and what they have taught me and continue to teach me. Mercy and Grace rain over those who would judge anyone…………………Thank you for pointing out all of our roles to minister to others in the furthuring of HIS kingdom.

  3. I am very thankful for your comments Chris (Mom). I considered writing in this post of the things I’ve seen as you and Dad minister to Scott, Tracy, Julia, Kathy, and the list goes on of all the lives of the people your family has touched. They joy I have seen brought to you by Scott and others is not something I’ve witnessed in many families, in fact I could probably count them on one hand. Oh how I pray that people could spend just a few typical hours in your home before they consider carrying out their acts. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

