jtrhart

Tiny Churches

In personal on May 2, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Tiny ChurchAs I continue to seek out wisdom for leading my growing family in a way that honors the one who took pity on me while I was His enemy, I enjoy reading posts like this:

Have you ever thought of your family as “a little church?” It is an idea that many Puritans and other believers embraced. Like a church, the family exists to worship, serve and glorify God.

Would he find you commanding your children and your household, and teaching them the way of the Lord? Would he find an altar in your dwelling? Do you worship God with your children? Is there a Church in your house?”

Does anyone practice any kind of “organized worship” in their homes? Singing together Sunday mornings before church. Nightly devotionals. Extended prayer times. Etc. I’d love to hear of some examples if you have any traditions you keep.

  1. […] Puritan Lad wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptDoes anyone practice any kind of “organized worship” in their homes? Singing together Sunday mornings before church. Nightly devotionals. Extended prayer times. Etc. I’d love to hear of some examples if you have any traditions you keep. […]

  2. I’m certainly not qualified to answer this, but Mike Minter certainly is. Here, he comments on family devotions in response to a question during the recent marriage conference: http://restonbible.org/audio/download/1286/2008-04-25+-+MIND+OVER+MATRIMONY+-+Session+5+-+Question+%2526+Answer.mp3 to download, or look at session 5 at http://restonbible.org/resources/audio to stream it online

  3. Thanks Andrew, I’ll load those sessions on my dellPod and listen to em on my next drive.

    And thanks for helping debug my CSS….grrr

Leave a Reply

